
LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD GUIDANCE BULLETIN NO. 1: 
 

INTERPRETATION “THINGS OF VALUE”  REGULATIONS, INCLUDING WHOLESALE 
DEALER/CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL HOLDER/VERMONT MANUFACTURER 
REGULATION NO. 15; GENERAL REGULATION NO. 19; AND ADVERTISING 

REGULATIONS NOS. 4 AND 5 
  
  

1. Scope and Effect of Bulletin.   
 
An Industry Member’s offer and a Retailer’s acceptance of a Thing of Value not 
expressly authorized or exempted by applicable State statute or regulation shall 
be prohibited and shall, at a minimum, constitute a violation of Wholesaler 
Dealer/Certificate of Approval Holder/Vermont Manufacturer Regulation No. 15 
and/or a violation of General Regulation No. 19, and may result in the suspension 
or revocation of licenses issued by the Board or the imposition of administrative 
penalties up to $2,500.00 per violation.  Subject to any express authorization or 
exception provided in any applicable statute or regulation, the act of an Industry 
Member of furnishing, giving, renting, lending or selling any Thing of Value to a 
Retailer shall constitute a means to induce purchase of alcoholic beverages in 
violation of Wholesaler Dealer/Certificate of Approval Holder/Vermont 
Manufacturer Regulation No. 15.  

  
2.  Definitions.  For the purposes of this Bulletin, the following definitions shall apply: 

a. Industry Member: Any wholesale dealer, a solicitor permit holder, 
certificate of approval holder, manufacturer or rectifier of malt, vinous or 
spirituous beverages or a spirit’s broker who represent a distillery or 
distributor of distilled spirits, and any employee, agent or affiliate thereof. 

b. Retailer: Any individual or entity holding a first class, third class, first and 
third class or second-class liquor license, and any employee, agent or 
affiliate thereof. 

c. Board: Liquor Control Board. 
d. Thing of Value: any tangible or intangible item with monetary or material 

worth, including equipment, fixtures, signs, supplies, money, services, gifts, 
sponsorships, and advertising.  

e. DLL employees: are any individuals employed by the Department of Liquor 
and Lottery. 

3.  Hospitality/Routine Business Entertainment. 
  

a. An Industry Member may purchase meals and beverages for a Retailer, but 
only when the Industry Member is in the company of that Retailer and 
only in an amount not to exceed $100.00 per person per event. 

b. An Industry Member may purchase tickets for a Retailer to attend sporting 
events, concerts, plays or other entertainment events, but only when the 



Industry Member is in the company of that Retailer. Not to exceed $100.00 
per person per event Industry Members may cover the costs of a Retailer’s 
greens fees, cart rental and other fees to attend golfing events, but only 
when the Industry Member is in the company of that Retailer and only in a 
total amount not to exceed $200.00 per person per event. 

c. On or before the 15th day of every July, October, January and April, 
Industry Members shall provide an electronic, itemized record of every 
Thing of Value described in subsections (A)-(C) above furnished, given, 
rented, lent or sold to any Retailer in the preceding three months, 
including at a minimum the following information: (i) the name of the 
Retailer; (ii) the date the Thing of Value was furnished, given, rented, lent 
or sold; (iii) a description of the Thing of Value; and (iv) the value of the 
Thing of Value.  An Industry Member that fails to keep such records as 
required shall not be eligible to claim the exception provided in this 
Section. 

4.  Advertising and Specialty Items.   
 

In addition to those items listed in the Board’s Advertising Regulations, Nos. 4 
and 5, an Industry Member may furnish, give, rent, lend or sell the following specialty 
and advertising items to a Retailer without prior approval of the Board: 
 

a. Print branded promotional signs with or without the Retailer’s name 
printed on the signs; 

b. Coasters 
c. Outdoor table umbrellas; 
d. Sandwich boards/menu boards/chalk boards; and 
e. Wine buckets/wine list covers. 

  
5.  Industry Members who Distribute Non-Alcoholic Beverages and Other Items.   
 

Industry Members also distributing items containing no alcohol, including soda, 
energy drinks, candy, and food, are not subject to the prohibitions of Wholesaler 
Dealer/Certificate of Approval Holder/Vermont Manufacturer Regulation No. 15 
when they are promoting only such items.  Industry Members shall maintain a 
written, itemized record of every Thing of Value furnished, given, rented, lent or 
sold to any Retailer for the purpose of promoting such items, including at a 
minimum: (i) the name of the Retailer; (ii) the date the Thing of Value was 
furnished, given, rented, lent or sold; (iii) a description of the Thing of Value; (iv) 
the value of the Thing of Value; and (v) the item's) any specific promotion's) to 
which the Thing of Value related.  Without a clear nexus to an item containing no 
alcohol, the act of an Industry Member of furnishing, giving, renting, lending or 
selling any Thing of Value to a Retailer with whom the Industry Member has an 
existing business relationship involving the sale of alcoholic beverages shall 
constitute a means to induce purchase of alcoholic beverages in violation of 



Wholesaler Dealer/Certificate of Approval Holder/Vermont Manufacturer 
Regulation No. 15.  Industry Members shall keep the above-described records for 
inspection by a member of the Board, the Commissioner of Liquor Control, the 
Commissioner of Taxes and/or any of their assistants or Investigators for a period 
of no less than two (2) years.  An Industry Member that fails to keep such records 
as required shall not be eligible to claim the exception provided in this Section. 

 
6.  Draft Systems.   
 

Industry Members shall report to the Board on or before the 15th day of every 
July, October, January and April on a separate invoice an itemized list of parts 
sold and the cost of labor to build, install and/or repair all malt, vinous or 
spirituous draft style dispensing systems at Retailer establishments in the 
previous three months.  The invoice shall include the fair market value paid by 
the Retailer for the cost of parts and labor. 

  
7.  New Retail Accounts.   
 

Industry Members may visit with applicants for liquor licensure once the 
applicant has submitted their application to the locality in which they wish to 
operate.  During such visits, the Industry Member may inform the applicant about 
the Industry Member’s products and prices and may solicit orders from such 
applicants to be filled when the applicant has received their liquor license.  

  
8.  Incorporation of Federal Tied-House Exceptions.  
 

The Board shall not consider an Industry Member’s act of furnishing, giving, 
renting, lending or selling any Thing of Value to a Retailer as a means to induce 
purchase of alcoholic beverages in violation of Wholesaler Dealer/Certificate of 
Approval Holder/Vermont Manufacturer Regulation No. 15 to the extent such act 
is expressly authorized pursuant to 27 CFR §§ 6.81-6.102 as now in existence or 
hereafter amended, provided: (A) the Industry Member meets its applicable 
federal recordkeeping requirements; (B) the Industry Member’s act is not 
otherwise prohibited by any other applicable State statute or regulation; and (C) 
the Industry Member complies with all restrictions and conditions imposed by 
any applicable State statute or regulation.    

 


